Everette McKinley Dirksen Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes the Illinois legislator for outstanding service to the people of Illinois and in honor of unique contributions to society.  J. Dennis Hastert, Speaker of the House, was the first recipient of this award in 1999.  Congressman John Shimkus (R-19) received the award in 2001 and Congressman Ray LaHood in 2005.