Elizabeth (Beth) Neuhoff Is 2016 Broadcaster of the Year

The Illinois Broadcasters Association (IBA) honored Elizabeth (Beth) Russell Neuhoff, CEO of Neuhoff Communications, as its 2016 “Vincent T. Wasilewski Broadcaster of the Year,” an award she received at IBA’s annual convention, June 14-15 in Champaign-Urbana.

Well known in both Illinois and national broadcast circles, Ms. Neuhoff, is CEO of Neuhoff Communications, a privately held broadcast and digital media company with a focus on Midwestern markets including Bloomington-Normal, Danville, Decatur, and Springfield, Illinois. Ms. Neuhoff is an elected Director of the NAB, serving as Second Vice-Chair of the Radio Board, representing NAB Radio’s 17th District, a district which includes the entire state of Illinois.

“Beth is an outstanding broadcaster who is deeply committed to the communities served by her stations,” remarked IBA’s Chairman of the Board Coby Cooper, VP/GM, WCIA-TV/WCIX-TV Champaign, IL. “We are so pleased to have her as a member of our Illinois broadcasting family and excited that our membership has recognized her leadership and devotion to broadcasting with this award.”

The award, given annually in honor of Vincent T. Wasilewski, the late Athens, Illinois native who served as the NAB’s (National Association of Broadcaster’s) 18th President in the mid-1960’s, was created tohonor those Illinois broadcasters who exhibit the same passion and dedication to this industry as Wasilewski did.  Honorees are recognized for broadcast excellence with their Illinois station(s) and within the broadcast industry as a whole, for the respect they receive from their peers both on a local market and national level, and for their work to achieve a favorable legislative climate for the broadcast industry.

“Since taking the reigns of Neuhoff Communications, Beth has shown strong leadership and has expanded her operations here in Illinois,” stated IBA’s Immediate Past Chairman Sarah Hautala when nominating Neuhoff for the award. “She continues to support local broadcasting and the interests of broadcasters.”                                                                                              

“Ms. Neuhoff is an exceptional choice for our Association’s most prestigious award,” added Dennis Lyle, president & CEO of the Illinois Broadcasters Association. “You’ll find no one more engaged and/or supportive of the broadcast industry today than Beth Neuhoff. She not only “gets it (local broadcasting,)” she “lives it!”

            In addition to serving on the NAB board, Ms. Neuhoff is a Director of the Broadcasters Foundation of America; a Trustee of the National Association of Broadcasters’ Education Foundation (NABEF,) and a Trustee of the National Association of Broadcasters’ Political Action Committee (NABPAC.) In 2014 she was named as one of the “Most Influential Women in Radio” by Radio Ink magazine, and was a finalist for “Best Broadcaster in America” at both the 2014 and 2015 NAB Radio Shows.

A believer that in serving others, we serve ourselves, Ms. Neufhoff is proudest of the tremendous work her stations exert daily to better the lives in their communities.

“I am truly humbled to receive the Vincent Wasilewski Award and to be in the company of so many talented Illinois broadcasters, including my late husband, Geoff,” exclaimed Neuhoff upon learning of her selection. “In truth, the honor belongs to the hardworking team at Neuhoff Media. They go above and beyond daily to make "Media Made Locally" more than just a slogan. I am grateful to the Illinois Broadcaster's Association for this incredible accolade and the fine work they do on behalf of our profession.”

Last modified on Wednesday, 09 November 2016 11:38