Board Members

IBA Board members are elected as part of the annual meeting held each year. Persons are nominated to the board to serve three year terms and are voted in by General Managers of IBA member stations present at the Legislative Update session at the annual meeting.

IBA 2021-2022


Chairman Melody Spann-Cooper, WVON, Chicago-
Chair-Elect Paul Rennie, WGN-TV, Chicago
Executive Vice-Chair-Matt Scarano, iHeart Media, Chicago
Vice-Chair TV-Dennis Welsh, FOX-TV, Chicago
Vice-Chair Radio-Luci Englum, Cromwell Radio Group, Illinois
Treasurer- Drew Horowitz, Gemini Strategies, Chicago
Immediate Past Chairman-John Idler, ABC 7, Chicago


Jim Grimes, Chicago-IBAcademic Chair
Kevin Cross, WMAQ-TV NBC5, Chicago
Steve Farber, WCIU/Weigel Broadcasting, Chicago
Fletcher Ford, Regional Media, Illinois
Kevin Harlan, Peoria
Mike Hulvey, Neuhoff Media
Jim Kizer, WQAD-TV, Rockford
Rick Lipps, WICS-TV, Springfield
Doug Levy, Univision, Chicago
Jennifer Lyons, WBBM-TV CBS2, Chicago
Marv Nyren, Cumulus, Chicago
Sarah Shellhammer, WJIL/WJVO, Jacksonville
Dana Withers, Dana Comm/Withers Broadcasting, Southern Illinois


Emily Barr, Graham Media
Marv Dyson, Retired, Founding Partner Urban Radio Broadcasting Group ,Chicago
Carlos Fernandez, Retired, Quincy