Induction October 24, 2022

(Carterville/Springfield, IL) The IBA (Illinois Broadcasters Association) has selected Neal Sabin, Vice-Chairman of Weigel Broadcasting, as its 2022 “IBA/Vincent T. Wasilewski Broadcaster of the Year.”

A lifelong Chicago and native of Skokie, IL., a Chicago Tribune article once proclaimed Sabin as “the programming mastermind behind Weigel’s Me-TV,” turning a “burgeoning television network into a national powerhouse.”

“The formula for broadcasting success is simple,” said Sabin in the article. “There’s some research. There’s my history. There’s my gut.”

“Neal Sabin single-handedly changed the landscape of digital television,” remarked Dennis Lyle, President, and CEO of the IBA. “I’ve long admired his genius, his creativity, and his passion for the industry,” Lyle continued. “He is a true visionary and is more than qualified for selection as IBA’s “Vincent T. Wasilewski Broadcaster of Year.”

“I am humbled to join the ranks of Illinois broadcasters who have received this prestigious award,” said Sabin upon learning of the award. “So many of them provide inspiration to me and many other broadcast professionals here in Illinois and beyond. I am grateful to the Association for awarding me this honor.”

Sabin is scheduled to accept the award on opening night of IBA’s annual conference, October 24-25 in Normal, IL.